Author Topic: Amiga 1200 - Advice please.  (Read 333 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wiggy2k

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 414
Amiga 1200 - Advice please.
« on: July 02, 2018 - 20:28:53 »
Have just blind bought an Amiga 1200  (for the sake of £100 I'll take the gamble) from a guy at work who found it in his parents attic "with a load of disks" ... (dunno what's included yet mind, I should be getting it tomorrow)
fun times ahead cleaning it up and re-capping it.... and probably retrobright'ing.

anyway, its a long ass time since I had an Amiga. Probably going on for 20 years, and even then it was an A500 model

Any advice on upgrades that will benefit me for casual use?
newer Kickstart ROMs? Compact flash adapter? Accellerator board?
are they worth getting.

Also other than No-Intro, what sets should i look to be getting? WHDLoad?

any useful links / online resources I should know about?
« Last Edit: July 02, 2018 - 20:45:42 by wiggy2k »

Offline NLS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 552
Re: Amiga 1200 - Advice please.
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2018 - 23:01:22 »
All of the above.


As for resources, here, PD and EAB.

---
NLS

Offline Connie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
Re: Amiga 1200 - Advice please.
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2018 - 01:29:24 »
Considering it's cost, I'd say you'd be throwing money at a dead horse.

Other than latest firmware/kickstart and maybe an accelerator board (if can be done cheap), then I'd just clean it, box it, and double your money in 10 years.
...It all depends on what you want from it. :)

EDIT:
There are some good specific Amiga 'fleebay' auctions and USENET/Google groups too.
« Last Edit: July 03, 2018 - 01:32:05 by Connie »
"Get busy living or get busy dying" - Shawshank Redemption (Stephen King)

My DAT Files - [You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
My Shared Files - [You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
My GOG.com Files - [You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login

Offline wiggy2k

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 414
Re: Amiga 1200 - Advice please.
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2018 - 10:41:52 »
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
Considering it's cost, I'd say you'd be throwing money at a dead horse.

Other than latest firmware/kickstart and maybe an accelerator board (if can be done cheap), then I'd just clean it, box it, and double your money in 10 years.
...It all depends on what you want from it. :)

EDIT:
There are some good specific Amiga 'fleebay' auctions and USENET/Google groups too.

I thought it was a bargain, last couple have gone on fleabay for over £200, certainly won’t be losing money on it.

Tbh as long as I can play most of the retail games without expansion then it’ll be fine, just something to keep me entertained and forget about all the monotony of real life.


Offline Retroplay

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 681
Re: Amiga 1200 - Advice please.
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2018 - 11:49:51 »
If you just want to run some WHDLoad demos/games, then all you really need is:

1. 4/8mb fast ram expansion.
2. IDE->CF (or SD) card adapter (for internal HDD).
3. PCMCIA->CF adapter and Compact Flash card (for easy transfer of files to Amiga).

Just make sure the ram expansion has a switch to select between 4 and 8 mb mode.
Most ram expansions conflicts with PCMCIA port if having 8mb enabled.
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login

Offline wiggy2k

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 414
Re: Amiga 1200 - Advice please.
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2018 - 19:04:39 »
Thanks all, appreciate the knowledge.

been looking into it today and can do quite a few mods for cheap as chips so should keep me entertained for a while.

picked it up just now, god I forgot how terrible ball mice were haha, nothing exciting or of interest with it just a boat load of cover disks, on the up side it isnt yellow.

Have downloaded all the DATs i could find and have rebuilt a load over last night.

one thing that is confusing me is the SPS stuff.
am i right in thinking that it used to be called CAPSDI and that the DAT also includes a load of Atari stuff?
and that now they are all included in No-Intro ?

if so i can get rid of the CAPSDI and SPS dats.
theres a lot of duplication going on in my romroot right now i reckon.





Offline Retroplay

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 681
Re: Amiga 1200 - Advice please.
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2018 - 19:33:05 »
CAPS (Classic Amiga Preservation Society) changed name to SPS (Software Preservation Society).
It started out as an Amiga only preservation project, but soon ST, Spectrum, C64 etc followed, hence the name change.

No-Intro set is based on SPS, so yeah, if you have a set based on TOSEC (SPS) or official (outdated) SPS dat, you can stick to No-Intro's, No-Intro is the most up-to-date.
SPS ipf images aren't much use on a real Amiga unless you have a [You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login board to write the ipfs back to physical floppy disks.
« Last Edit: July 03, 2018 - 19:37:28 by Retroplay »
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login

Offline wiggy2k

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 414
Re: Amiga 1200 - Advice please.
« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2018 - 19:57:56 »
well every day is a school day, thanks, i was under the impression (or more correctly I just assumed) i could mount them in a USB Floppy emulator mayeb.
meh either way this lot and the stuff from [You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login  should keep my busy for a good while. 

now to strip it down and make a list of capacitors to buy - i'll put money on me breaking it in the process  ;D


Offline Retroplay

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 681
Re: Amiga 1200 - Advice please.
« Reply #8 on: July 03, 2018 - 20:09:05 »
If your A1200 has a HDD (with Workbench 3.0 or 3.1) but no ram expansion, you could try out some of the JST installed games in my signature link.

[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login is the spiritual predecessor of WHDLoad.
JOTD has done the occasional updates, now it even runs some WHDLoad games.
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login

Offline wiggy2k

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 414
Re: Amiga 1200 - Advice please.
« Reply #9 on: July 03, 2018 - 21:29:00 »
limited audience who'd even be interested in this but anyway

Yeah i grabbed the JST stuff last night, thanks man.

good news is no CAPS have leaked yet and the board is really clean so winner.
looks like the board is a model 2B manufactured in late 1993 (latest datecodes being week 42 on Gayle and the video DAC)  presumably was some lucky kids Christmas present in '93

need to investigate more about the timing issues with some versions of the 2b
Should probably sign up for and move that sort of stuff to EAB though.

look at the PRETTY!
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login


Offline Retroplay

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 681
Re: Amiga 1200 - Advice please.
« Reply #10 on: July 03, 2018 - 22:41:54 »
If you go for an ACA board, timing fix might be necessary.

I had to do it on my 1.D4 A1200 for my ACA1232 to work properly without the Amiga freezing at random.

I just did the fix intended for Apollo cards (remove E123C & E125C) and that has worked beautiful since day one.
2B boards needs a different fix though.
More on that here:
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login

Offline wiggy2k

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 414
Re: Amiga 1200 - Advice please.
« Reply #11 on: July 03, 2018 - 22:49:46 »
Awesome thanks mate, all looks simple enough.
Might as well do those fixes anyway whilst it’s all stripped down.
I Love a good project.

Offline Retroplay

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 681
Re: Amiga 1200 - Advice please.
« Reply #12 on: July 03, 2018 - 22:53:24 »
I'd wait if I were you, check if the Amiga work as expected with the board first, if not, then do it.
No need to fix it, if it ain't broke.
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login

Offline subcon959

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Amiga 1200 - Advice please.
« Reply #13 on: July 06, 2018 - 12:13:28 »
I tried a lot of stuff and spent a lot of money over the years and it's worth it for the journey alone.

What I eventually settled with is a basic A1200 and a Gotek floppy emulator. The sky really is the limit when it comes to Amiga upgrades, but I realised what I was searching for was nostalgia-based so all the fancy stuff just wasn't full-filling that part of it.

It all depends if you want loads of bling, or just to re-live your childhood.

Offline Retroplay

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 681
Re: Amiga 1200 - Advice please.
« Reply #14 on: July 06, 2018 - 13:51:33 »
There's a catch though.

I also still have my A500 I got back in 1991, bought a Gotek from China off of eBay, bought HxC bootloader and firmware from Jeff and flashed that.
The thing is, I was already accustomed to no disk-swapping and near zero load times (WHDLoad) and so on, loading demos/games from floppies just doesn't cut it anymore for me.

I still look back in horror when I think about what I've had to put up with Desert Strike & Space Hulk, atrocious loading times to say the least. ;D
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login