Author Topic: Scanning v4 CHDs with CMPro 4.03/0.145u1  (Read 11585 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline niallquinn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2156
  • FTM.
Re: Scanning v4 CHDs with CMPro 4.03/0.145u1
« Reply #15 on: February 21, 2012 - 18:44:48 »
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
That's the trouble of being an early adopter NQ.

I copied over the LD CHD's to my pc to give conversion a go and all seemed to go OK till I scanned with Clrmame.
I've now deleted the v5 converted chd's and gone back to using and scanning v4's for now. The only issues i get now is that the four new chd's introduced into 145u1 flag up as the wrong version (5 instead of 4) but I can live with that till this mess gets resolved :-)

Happy days.......

Happy days, my arse, as Jim Royle would say.

:)

Wonder if they still work.......let's try them.  I mean I can live with them not checking out with cmp if they still work.......

If not, looks like a few UK folks on here will be getting a PM requesting a HD copy.

:)

A rom is for life, not just for Christmas.

Offline niallquinn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2156
  • FTM.
Re: Scanning v4 CHDs with CMPro 4.03/0.145u1
« Reply #16 on: February 21, 2012 - 18:49:18 »
Reet, quick play of cubrqst, seems to be fine. 

Hmmm.....tis quite a three pipe problem as Sherlock would say.

NQ.
A rom is for life, not just for Christmas.

Offline Connie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2167
Re: Scanning v4 CHDs with CMPro 4.03/0.145u1
« Reply #17 on: February 21, 2012 - 20:39:44 »
Some one posted the hex differences in those 2 CHD's (cubequest?). Just edit them with a hexeditor.

...and why are people converting them to v5 if MAME works with v4, or is that not the case? Please don't tell me it's to save 8.5GB of space.
"Get busy living or get busy dying" - Shawshank Redemption (Stephen King)

My DAT Files - [You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
My Shared Files - [You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
My GOG.com Files - [You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login

Offline niallquinn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2156
  • FTM.
Re: Scanning v4 CHDs with CMPro 4.03/0.145u1
« Reply #18 on: February 21, 2012 - 20:46:27 »
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
Some one posted the hex differences in those 2 CHD's (cubequest?). Just edit them with a hexeditor.

...and why are people converting them to v5 if MAME works with v4, or is that not the case? Please don't tell me it's to save 8.5GB of space.

It's to save 8.5gig of space.

I know, I know, don't say it!

"You tit", you're all saying.

Question is, can I "un-v5" them?  Anyone know?

NQ.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2012 - 20:57:10 by niallquinn »
A rom is for life, not just for Christmas.

Offline gremlin1968

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
Re: Scanning v4 CHDs with CMPro 4.03/0.145u1
« Reply #19 on: February 21, 2012 - 21:03:24 »
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
Arrange these words into a sentence.  "fucks" "oh" "sake" and "for".

I knew something was up, so essentially, I've knackered half of my CHDs.  Question is, is there a way to "unknacker" them?

NQ.


@NQ i haven't taken up the challange of converting yet, so if you didn't take a back-up before the conversion, let me know and i'll get a HD to you if you'd like.

Gremlin

Online RCade

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1819
Re: Scanning v4 CHDs with CMPro 4.03/0.145u1
« Reply #20 on: February 21, 2012 - 21:53:18 »
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
Some one posted the hex differences in those 2 CHD's (cubequest?). Just edit them with a hexeditor.

...and why are people converting them to v5 if MAME works with v4, or is that not the case? Please don't tell me it's to save 8.5GB of space.

No Connie...It's to get that perfect green tick in clr  8)

 ;D

Offline Cassiel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 653
Re: Scanning v4 CHDs with CMPro 4.03/0.145u1
« Reply #21 on: February 22, 2012 - 00:22:36 »
I can help you out with a HD too if it comes to it (London based)... I wouldn't panic yet though.

The *raw* data tracks will (should?) be unaffected, its just the latest buggy (CHD v5/v4) 'container' that's fucking everything up...

Have a relaxing jack and coke... makes everything all better    8)

Offline Terra_Cresta

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2236
Re: Scanning v4 CHDs with CMPro 4.03/0.145u1
« Reply #22 on: February 22, 2012 - 10:46:43 »
Torrents are going to be the next fun areas over at PD... there'll be an awful lot of unnecessary re-downloading due to CHDs being of the *wrong* version. I suspect many poeple will find they have some mish-mash of v4, non-matching early v5 and some later v5s and will just scrap the lot and leech them all again.

Offline pastrelli

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 821
Re: Scanning v4 CHDs with CMPro 4.03/0.145u1
« Reply #23 on: February 22, 2012 - 11:01:31 »
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
there'll be an awful lot of unnecessary re-downloading

who cares, will be freeleech anyway ;D


Offline Terra_Cresta

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2236
Re: Scanning v4 CHDs with CMPro 4.03/0.145u1
« Reply #24 on: February 22, 2012 - 13:27:40 »
Not sure why 4.03a is claiming many of my v5 CHDs are unneeded. If the SHA1 was bad you'd think that's what it would error on - not offer to remove it completely as unneeded....  :'(

Offline B2K24

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 858
  • Mr. Big Knob
Re: Scanning v4 CHDs with CMPro 4.03/0.145u1
« Reply #25 on: February 22, 2012 - 17:01:26 »
because mame source wasn't properly updated with sha1's that were expected to change.

see haze blog for information in comments.
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login

Offline Terra_Cresta

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2236
Re: Scanning v4 CHDs with CMPro 4.03/0.145u1
« Reply #26 on: February 22, 2012 - 17:11:10 »
Yes, I remember now..... in amongst all the stuff that's happened over the last couple of days!

Offline niallquinn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2156
  • FTM.
Re: Scanning v4 CHDs with CMPro 4.03/0.145u1
« Reply #27 on: February 22, 2012 - 17:39:04 »
Thanks for the offer of help folks, I'll wait and see if u2 chdman can sort them out.

Cheers.

NQ.
A rom is for life, not just for Christmas.

Offline Connie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2167
Re: Scanning v4 CHDs with CMPro 4.03/0.145u1
« Reply #28 on: February 22, 2012 - 18:39:01 »
Maybe it'll be possible to hack the metadata in the headers of the CHD rather than extract/create the problem dumps.
"Get busy living or get busy dying" - Shawshank Redemption (Stephen King)

My DAT Files - [You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
My Shared Files - [You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
My GOG.com Files - [You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login

Offline niallquinn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2156
  • FTM.
Re: Scanning v4 CHDs with CMPro 4.03/0.145u1
« Reply #29 on: February 22, 2012 - 18:53:48 »
[You are not allowed to view links] Register or Login
Maybe it'll be possible to hack the metadata in the headers of the CHD rather than extract/create the problem dumps.

Well I'm open to dos scripts that'll sort it all.

:)

NQ.
A rom is for life, not just for Christmas.